Board of Library Trustees Scholarship Committee Meeting Minutes

The Scholarship Committee of the Board of Library Trustees met on April 22, 2019, at 1:00 PM in the Trustees Room of the Main Library.

Present: Carl Cruz, Chair

Diana Henry, Vice Chair

Helen Rogers Kimberley Ferreira Olivia Melo, Director

Ms. Melo and Mr. Cruz called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m.

Review of Process

Mr. Cruz informed the group the committee has \$2,500.00 to distribute from the Clement Yeager Scholarship.

Review of Applicants

Mr. Cruz informed the committee that we received two applications from the posting. They are Janet Barbosa and Melissa Sears. Both applicants were interviewed by the Committee on April 22, 2019 in the Trustee Room at the Main Library.

Ms. Melissa Sears works for the City of New Bedford and has been accepted to the Simmons University School of Library and Information Science online program. She is interested in Archives and Special Collections Management. She anticipates finishing her course work in 2022.

Ms. Janet Barbosa works for the City of New Bedford and has enrolled in the Simmons University School of Library and Information Science online program with an anticipated completion date of 2022. She is interested in Youth Services.

After reviewing the applicant's letter and interview, Mrs. Rogers made a Motion that we award both applicants \$1250.00 seconded by Mrs. Henry. Motion passed.

Meeting adjourned at 1:20 PM

Respectfully submitted

Carl J. Cruz, Chair Scholarship Committee